Walter Dean Myers (Estate of)
MONSTER (Amistad, 2001)

Monster is now a major motion picture starring Jennifer Hudson, Kelvin Harrison, Jr., Nas, and A$AP Rocky.

Named one of The 100 Best YA Books of All Time by TIME Magazine

New York Times bestseller, 2000 Coretta Scott King Honor Book, 2000 Michael L. Printz Award, 1999 National Book Award Finalist, 2000 Best Books for Young Adults (ALA), Hornbook Fanfare 2000, 2000 Quick Picks for Young Adults (Recomm. Books for Reluctant Young Readers)

This bestselling novel from acclaimed author Walter Dean Myers tells the story of Steve Harmon, a teenage boy in juvenile detention and on trial.

Presented as a screenplay of Steve's own imagination, and peppered with journal entries, the book shows how one single decision can change our whole lives.

Monster is a multi-award-winning, provocative coming-of-age story that was the first-ever Michael L. Printz Award recipient, an ALA Best Book, a Coretta Scott King Honor selection, and a National Book Award finalist.

FREDERICK DOUGLASS (HarperCollins, 2016)
JUBA! (Amistad, 2015)
MONSTER: A Graphic Novel (Amistad, 2015)
ON A CLEAR DAY (Crown Books for Young Readers, 2014)
INVASION (Scholastic, 2013)
DARIUS & TWIG (Amistad, 2013)
JUST WRITE: Here's How! (Harperfestival, 2012)
ALL THE RIGHT STUFF (Amistad, 2012)
KICK (Harperteen, 2012)
CRUISERS, THE (Scholastic, 2010)
CRUISERS, BOOK 2: Checkmate! (Scholastic, 2011)
CRUISERS, BOOK 3: A Star is Born (Scholastic, 2012)
SUNRISE OVER FALUJAH (Scholastic, 2008)
FALLEN ANGELS (Scholastic, 1988)
WE ARE AMERICA (HarperCollins, 2011)
LOCKDOWN (Amistad, 2010)
DOPE SICK (Amistad, 2010)
GAME (HarperTeen, 2008)
STREET LOVE (Amistad, 2006)
HANDBOOK FOR BOYS (Amistad, 2002)
BAD BOY: A Memoir (Amistad, 2001)

Walter Dean Myers’s fiction and nonfiction books have reached millions of young people. A prolific author of more than one hundred titles, he received every major award in the field of children’s literature. He wrote two Newbery Honor Books, eleven Coretta Scott King Award winners, three National Book Award finalists, and the winner of the first Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature. He also received the Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults and was the first recipient of the Coretta Scott King–Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement. He was a 2010 United States nominee for the Hans Christian Andersen Award and was nominated for the Astrid Lindgren Award numerous times. From 2012 to 2013, he served as the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature with the platform “Reading is not optional.”

When asked about his readers, Walter would often say, “Young people are some of the best people I know.” In his most-beloved books, Walter explored the themes of taking responsibility for your life and reminding readers that everyone always gets a second chance. Myers passed away in 2013.